State of MI Personal ID Cards
Who is Eligible for a Personal Identification Card?
Personal identification cards (PID cards) are issued to any Michigan resident, regardless of age, because there is no minimum age requirement. You may not have a PID and a Michigan driver license at the same time. PID cards are processed at any Secretary of State Branch Office.
Under Michigan law, a PID is as valid as a driver license for identification purposes.
Personal Identification Requirements
Persons under the age of 18 – Must present one form of identification with full name and date of birth (ex. A true copy or original birth certificate).
Persons 18 years old or older – Must present three forms of identification with full name and date of birth.
Personal Identification Card Fees
The fee for a personal identification card is $10. No fee will be charged for applicants with a physical or mental disability (you may need to present documented proof of disability with a doctors statement).
Additional questions can be directed to the secretary of state at: